• Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Board February 2019

Officers and Board of Trustees


  • Carl Harrington, Chair of the Board, Philadelphia, PA, carlh@comcast.net
    Chair, Executive Committee; Chair, Governance Committee; Educational Forum Committee; Audit and Finance Committee; WhiMSICAL and LLS Patient Registries Committee
  • Beverly Docteur, Secretary/Treasurer, Binghamton, NY, bdocteur@stny.rr.com
    Chair, Audit and Finance Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee
  • Newton Guerin, President & CEO, Spotsylvania, VA, nguerin@iwmf.com 
    Executive Committee; Governance Committee, Fundraising Committee, Ed Forum Committee
  • Thomas (Tom) H. Hoffmann MD, FACS, ACCP, Chair, Research, Frisco, TX, thoffmann@iwmf.com  
    Vice-Chair, Research Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Publications Committee
  • Michael Sesnowitz, Chair, Fundraising, Richmond, VA, mlsecon@gmail.com
    Vice-Chair, Fundraising Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee
  • Lisa Wise, Philadelphia, PA, wiseplace@gmail.com
    Vice-Chair, Member Services, Chair, US LIFELINE Committee; Chair, US Support Group Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Ed Forum Committee


  • Stephen Ansell, M.D., Rochester, MN, ansell.stephen@mayo.edu
    Co-Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee
  • Ron Branscome, Fredericksburg, VA, rwadeb@aol.com 
    Fundraising Committee
  • Peter DeNardis, Aliquippa, PA, pdenardis@gmail.com
    Chair, Information Technology Committee; Publications Committee; IWMF Connect Manager; Judith May Volunteer Award Committee; Educational Forum Committee; WhiMSICAL and LLS Patient Registries Committee 
  • Shirley Ganse, Issaquah, WA, shirleyganse@hotmail.com 
    IWMF Torch Magazine Editor
  • Elena Malunis, Sleepy Hollow, NY, emalunis@iwmf.com
    Chair, International Committee; Publications Committee
  • Barry Nelson, Newton, MA, BarryNelson@alum.MIT.edu
    Webmaster; Information Technology Committee; Publications Committee
  • Linda Nelson, Newton, MA, dentalbike@gmail.com
    Chair, Publications Committee; Research Committee

Board Advisor:

President Emerita

TRUSTEES - 1998 to Present

1998 & 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004
Arnold Smokler, FL
(President from 1998-1999)
Norm Spector, CA
Anne Greene, MD
Sue Lynch, FL
Judith May, CA
(President from 2005-2012)
(President Emerita since 2013)
Dick Mann, NY
John Renshaw, MD
Bob Carroll, CO
Ben Rude, CA
(President, 2000-2004)
Kathleen Ugenti, NY
Davell Hays, CA
Pat Kees, FL
Les Smith, MD
John Spencer, GA
Thad Rushi, NY
Michael Luttrell, CA
Jim Bunton, Canada
Jack Gelber, NY
James Berg, PA
Howard Donley, CA
John Sullivan, NJ
Mary Ughetta, NY
Harold Caplin, CA
Lou Birenbaum, MO
Jim Johannsen, CA
Neil Massoth, NJ
Tom Myers, MD
Bob Bent, IN
Tom Hoffmann, M.D., AR
Ron Payne, OH
Ron Draftz, IL
Carol Gelber, NY
Peter Mitro, OH
Tony Brown, CA
Elinor Howenstine, CA
Robert Kyle, M.D., MN
Don Lindemann, CA
Dave Lively, WI
Karen Pindzola, PA
Guy Sherwood, M.D., IN
Ron Yee, PA
2007 2008 2009 2010 2012 2013
Arlene Hinchcliffe, Canada
Dick Weiland, MN
Roy Parker, CO
Bill Paul, TN
Don Brown, IL
*Peter DeNardis, PA
Cindy Furst, CO
Marty Glassman, CA
Sue Herms, SC
Guy Sherwood, M.D., Winnipeg, Canada
*Carl Harrington, PA
(President since 2012)
*Elena Malunis, NY
Cynthia Ruhl, CA
Marcia Klepac, PA
*Michael Sesnowitz, VA
Marlyn Friedlander, WA
2014 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
Gayle Backmeyer, IN
Eileen Lash, PA
*Barry Nelson, MA
*Stephen Ansell, M.D., MN
*Linda Nelson, MA
Wanda Huskins, NY

*Beverly Docteur, NY
*Lisa Wise, PA

* Tom Hoffman, M.D., TX

* Ron Branscome, VA
* Shirley Ganse, WA

*Newton Guerin, VA


* denotes current Trustee

* Bold blue text denotes a person who has served, or is serving, as President of the IWMF

NOTE: The President and CEO is compensated. All other IWMF Officers and Board of Trustees are non-salaried positions and filled by volunteers.

Google Adwords: 

Did you know?

Did you know WM patients, caregivers, friends, and family fund almost all IWMF programs and services?