• Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Size: 100%

Scientific and Research Committees

When evaluating proposals for research funding, or assessing making a call for specific types of research for basic biomedical research grants, the IWMF relies on two committees - the Scientific Advisory Committee, and the Research Committee.  The Advisory Committee is comprised of top WM researchers from around the world, and their mission is to evaluate and vet all applications for funding that come to the IWMF.  The Research Committee reviews the Advisory Committee's recommendations, evaluates the viability of the proposals and the availability of funding, and then forwards the proposal to the IWMF Board of Trustees for final approval.

Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Robert Kyle, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, Chair
  • Stephen Ansell, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Bart Barlogie, MD, PhD,  Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, New York
  • James R. Berenson, MD, Institute for Myeloma & Bone Cancer Research, West Hollywood, California
  • Morton Coleman, MD, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, New York
  • Meletios Dimopoulos, MD, Alexandra Hospital, Athens, Greece
  • Stanley Frankel, MD, Columbia University, New York, New York
  • Morie Gertz, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Irene Ghobrial, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Eva Kimby, MD, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Véronique Leblond, MD, PhD, Hôpital Pitié Salpêtrière, Paris, France
  • Gwen L. Nichols, MD, Hoffman-LaRoche, Nutley, New Jersey
  • Roger Owen, MD, St. James's Institute of Oncology, Leeds, United Kingdom
  • Surinder Sahota, PhD, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Sheeba Thomas, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas
  • Steven Treon, MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Brian Van Ness, PhD, University of Minnesota
  • Mary Varterasian, MD, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Research Committee

  • Guy Sherwood, MD, Chair
  • Suzanne Herms
  • Robert Kyle, MD
  • Judith May
  • Tom Hoffmann, MD, volunteer
  • Brent James, volunteer
  • Deborah Lebman, volunteer
  • Fred Leonard, MD, volunteer
  • Neal Makens, MD, volunteer
  • Tom Myers, volunteer
  • John Paasch, volunteer
  • Colin Perrott, volunteer
  • Liane Stafira-Cochran, volunteer

NOTE: The IWMF Scientific and Research Committees are non-salaried positions. These positions are filled by volunteers, including researchers and physicians.


Did you know?

Did you know WM patients, caregivers, friends, and family fund almost all IWMF programs and services?